Table of Contents
What are the Penalties and Fines?
Illinois DUI laws are very strict in terms of penalties and fines. If your arrested with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher then you are considered legally drunk. In Illinois a DUI covers all types of impaired driving. This includes driving while intoxicated and driving under the influence of drugs.
Driver’s License Suspension
If you are pulled over for a moving violation with a BAC above 0.08, the officer will immediately suspend your driver’s license for 180 days. You will given a temporary driver’s license that will allow you continue driving for 45 days. This is done so you have enough time to fight back the charges. However, on the 46th day after your arrest, your license will be suspended.
The penalties for DUI in Illinois depend on the circumstances of your arrest and conviction. These circumstances include your age, your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) level, and prior DUI convictions.
First DUI Conviction
If this is your first DUI offense you will face the following penalties:
- Charge of Class A Misdemeanor
- Possible jail time of 1 year
- Fine up to $2,500
- Driver’s License suspension of 1 year
In addition , if you want to have your driver’s license reinstated, you will be required to purchase and install a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in your vehicle. The BAIID is essentially a breathalyzer installed in your vehicle. It will require you to give a breath sample before you can start your vehicle. If you fail to provide a clean sample, your car will not start.
Average Cost of breaking Illinois DUI Laws
Illinois drunk driving laws impose several financial penalties on drivers. The average cost of a dui charge is around $16,000 for a first offense. Below you can see the breakdown of the different costs you can expect to pay for getting a DUI in Illinois:
|Average Income Loss ( Due to 4 weeks jail time)||$4,000|
|Driver’s License Reinstatement||$580|
If you are a repeat DUI offender, your fines and costs will be much higher.
More Consequences of Breaking Illinois DUI Laws
- A DUI conviction is permanent on your driving record
- You are required to take an alcohol/drug education course
- Your vehicle may be impounded or seized
- You must carry high risk (and expensive) auto insurance for at least 3 years
- Your vehicle registration is suspended