Pennsylvania DUI Laws

What are the Penalties and Fines?

Fill out my online form.

Pennsylvania DUI laws state that you will be arrested if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is above 0.08. The penalties for drunk driving in Pennsylvania is divided into a three tiered system which is based on your BAC level. The 3 levels of BAC are :

  • 0.08 - 0.099 (Lowest Penalty)
  • 0.10 - 0.159 (High Penalty)
  • 0.16 and Above (Highest Penalty)

Your DUI penalty and fines will depend on which tier you fall into and your prior drunk driving offenses.

First Tier and First DUI Offense

If this is your first DUI offense and you fall within the first tier BAC level, you will face the following consequences:

  • Charge of misdemeanor
  • Up to 6 months of probation
  • Up to $300 fine
  • Required DUI class
  • Up to 6 months jail time

Second Tier and First DUI Offense

If your BAC level is in the second tier range, you will face all of the first tier penalties in addition to the following:

  • Fines between $500 and $5,000
  • Minimum of 48 hours of jail time
  • Jail time up to 6 months

Third Tier and First DUI Offense

If your BAC level is in the third tier range, you will face all of the first tier penalties in addition to the following:

  • Fines between $1,000 and $5,000
  • Minimum of 72 hours of jail time
  • Jail time up to 6 months

If you are a repeat offender your penalties and charges will be much harsher.

Effect on Driver's License

According to DUI laws in Pennsylvania, if you are arrested for drunk driving your driver's license may be suspended by the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDot). Just like your DUI penalties, the length of your suspension will depend on your BAC level and prior drunk driving offenses.

BAC between 0.08 and 0.10:

  • First Offense : No suspension
  • Second Offense : 12 months
  • Third Offense : 12 months

BAC between 0.10 ad 0.16:

  • First Offense : 12 month suspension
  • Second : 12 month suspension
  • Third Offense : 18 months suspension

BAC greater than 0.16:

  • First Offense : 12 months suspension
  • Second Offense : 18 months suspension
  • Third Offense : 18 months suspension

Effect on Car Insurance

Pennsylvania DUI laws also enforce strong penalties on your car insurance. In addition to your DUI penalties and driver's license suspension, you will also have to carry a high risk auto insurance policy. This policy is typically three times more expensive and you will have to pay for it for 3 years.



T2 and Home Links ===-->